According to local history, notorious pirate Captain William Kidd visited Milford during his final voyage in 1699, a stop along the way to Boston (where he would be subsequently arrested and imprisoned before being returned to England for trial and execution). Although he actually buried treasure at Gardiners Island just off of Long Island, it's always been believed that he also hid a portion of his fortune on Charles Island, possibly beneath a giant boulder known as Hog Rock. And of course, being a good pirate, he cursed anyone who would go looking for his treasure.
The sparsely populated Northeastern region of Connecticut has long been called the Quiet Corner. But whoever named it may not have ever been to the abandoned settlement of Bara-Hack, which may be gone, but clearly, doesn't want to be forgotten.
One of the most picturesque lighthouses along the Connecticut coast is the distinctive New London Ledge Lighthouse. It also is allegedly home to one of the most distinctive ghosts in the area, a spirit of former keeper, now known as "Ernie."
The headstones in this cemetery have no names—only numbers.
How about a poltergeist with your chicken parmigiana? Didn't think so.
At the junction of routes 59 and 136 in Easton, next to Easton Baptist Church, the nearly 400-year-old Union Cemetery is allegedly one of the most haunted spots in Connecticut.
One of the most renowned damned places in Connecticut is the abandoned—and allegedly cursed—village of Dudleytown. Over the years, there has allegedly been everything from suicides to demonic possessions, ghostly spirits to dreadful feelings, and all the hysterical drama in between. In short, it has become the Connecticut damnation destination.